How We Made His Most Popular Video Within a Few Tries

A step-by-step guide to virality based on evidence..

Sponsored by

What's up, friends! 👋

Today I want to show you a step-by-step on how we created Christian's most popular video within 5 videos of working together. A solid 26x on his average and still growing!

A lot of creators struggle with making videos that reach a broad audience, and by reading this week's newsletter, you will learn a simple-to-understand step-by-step process that is replicable and easy to master for your own channel(s).

Unfortunately, a ton of creators (and strategists) make a mistake that will hurt their progress towards making more of these winning videos...

They focus only on the potential virality of the idea.

And that is bad for the following reasons:

  • You forget to ask yourself if the core audience would like it

  • You don't take into account the casual viewer of the channel

  • You don't create cohesion between overarching topics on the channel

But, in today's issue, I'll reveal my exact thought process on choosing the topic and packaging for this video. 🤓

Here's how I did it, step by step:

Step 1: Know your ideal viewer/current core audience

Without knowing what makes your core audience tick, you'll find it very hard to create these 1/10 video ideas.

Simply put, in the early moments after uploading, your video gets pushed out to the viewers who have watched more of your content before, starting with the most hardcore viewers.

If you can not get them to click, it will get harder and harder to have newer audiences click your video, because it will simply fall flat on its face and stop getting impressions.

With Christian, I focused on analyzing his data and what his audience seemed to love. It showed strong signals that ''how to make <big amount of dollars> with <simple technique/software>'' had strong potential.

So, I wrote that concept down and I started step 2...

Step 2: Do market research

A ton of people make a big mistake here. They look at outliers only, forgetting the importance of step 1. I knew what I was looking for: a video to teach his core audience something they desire.

So, I hopped on my favorite outlier tool 1of10, and within 30 minutes or so, I found this gem:

It gave me an idea that ticked all the boxes:

 His core audience would very likely love the improved version I had in mind

 I see almost instantly how we could improve this packaging

 The improved version I envisioned had tons of potential to break out of his viewer base

 I knew Christian would be able to give a lot of value in the video

So, I put it on my shortlist, and we got to work on our next meeting...

Step 3: Improve the original outlier

This is where a potential viral video is born, and it's pretty easy to understand, yet hard to master.

Now that we had a video idea with potential, I knew we needed to do the most important part here: Improve the example video.

The lowest-hanging fruit here is the packaging. What can we do to make it better?

In my opinion, the title was too ''keyword-ey''. I knew that if we would focus on the desire of our audience, it would do well.

So, I came up with ''How to Build a $10,000 Website with No Code + AI.''

It had the No Code angle his business foundation was built on in the title, the buzzword AI, and a big money number to lure them in.

It was simply constructed to get a viewer to click because they wanted to understand how with somewhat simple techniques, they could start creating websites they could charge serious money for.

Next up, I knew we could improve the thumbnail. It was flat, and in my opinion way too wordy. So, let's do a nice before and after, why not?

BEFORE

AFTER

I improved it by having:

 Less words

✅ A second visual anchor that would attract the eye (basketball)

✅ Visually appealing website concept that would help sell the idea

Lastly, it was up to Christian to improve the actual video itself with the information he gave. And boy, did he deliver!

These three steps combined resulted in a video that is still getting tons of views today and is well on its way to becoming a massive outlier not only for Christian's channel, but the whole No-Code market on YouTube in itself!

This step-by-step guide is easy to understand yet somewhat hard to master. One thing you can't speedrun? Experience. So keep uploading, and you'll see successes stack in no time.

If this was valuable to you, please do let me know, and share it with friends that'll love this info as well.

See you next week!

My favorite tools for winning on YouTube:

💡Ideation: 1of10.com

🖼️Thumbnail A/B testing: thumbnailtest.com

👁️See your packaging: thumbnailcheck.com

These stories are presented thanks to beehiiv, an all-in-one newsletter suite built by the early Morning Brew team.

Fully equipped with built-in growth and monetization tools, no code website and newsletter builder, and best-in-class analytics that actually move the needle.

The top newsletters in the world are built on beehiiv, and yours can be too. It's the most affordable option in the market, and you can try it for free — no credit card required.